Year 8 Football – Devon County Champions!

Bideford College Year 8 Football Team have become Devon County Champions after beating Paignton in a nail-biting final last week. Notable victories on route to the final included games against St. Lukes’ Exeter and Torquay Academy.

The final was held at Stoke Gabriel F.C and Paignton certainly took advantage of being closer to home with 250 chanting fans making the short journey to watch the game. However, Bideford College held their nerve and, despite falling behind twice, the game went into extra time at 2-2. During extra time, Bideford played their best football and were unlucky with a couple of good chances, as well as a fantastic save from Alfie Daniels to hold off the opposing side. With 3 minutes to go, Liam Short clipped a perfectly weighted pass in behind the central defenders and Sam Wright pounced to hammer home from just inside the box. Suddenly, it was the 6 Bideford supporters who were making all the noise in the packed main stand!

On the final whistle the score was 3-2 and the Year 8 Bideford College team were announced as Devon County Champions!

The team: top L – R, Morgan Taylor, Niall Weight-Short, Ethan Jeffery, Cory Guppy, Sam Wright (C), Liam Short, Jack Sargent, Alfred Staines-Byrt, Matt Sutton and bottom L – R, Reiko Tyrer, Jack Johns, Oakey Prouse, Alfie Daniels, Ben Seaman and Sam Gillett.